BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

European Auto Source (EAS)

12-23-2013, 02:35 PM   #1
Sebringjetta
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E46m3

Laguna Seca Gear Selection, Apex Question

ok i have been to laguna more times then i can count in my e46 but sat was my 1st time in my new e92... so going from turn 5-6 im topped out in 3rd gear once at 6 ... so are you guys going to 4th gear through 6 heading towards 7? or brake into 6 and exit 6 heading towards 7 in 3rd gear? hope that question made sense...

and just curious you guys single or double apex turn 2?
      12-24-2013, 08:54 AM   #2
03BeastCharmer
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: '13 M3

Was there for the 1st time in August, and I went deep into 2 (wide) broke hard, and then late apexed the end of 2. I'm no expert, but it worked for me. I don't remember what gear I was in (DCT-makes it easy).

Current: '13 E92 M3 Euro Delivery
Gone: E86 M Coupe; E30 M3, E39 M5, E36 M3
Appreciate 0
      12-24-2013, 09:27 AM   #3
Sebringjetta
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by 03BeastCharmer View Post
Was there for the 1st time in August, and I went deep into 2 (wide) broke hard, and then late apexed the end of 2. I'm no expert, but it worked for me. I don't remember what gear I was in (DCT-makes it easy).
some guys double and some single apex it....i always brake deep and wide and single...everytime you watch alms they always double it.....
      12-24-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
FogCityM3
Colonel
Rep
Drives: M3 (E90) & Porsche GT3 RS

Yeah, I would top out in 3rd (I have MT) going into turn 6, but I have an 8600 rpm limit, so have no need to upshift (or maybe I'm not that fast!). Given the uphill climb on the straight to turn 7, I would imagine 4th not having enough pull vs. 3rd.