BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com  
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts  

Go Back   BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

03-18-2011, 12:35 AM   #1
BOOSTFTW
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: E90 335i e36 m3

how did you guys land your first job right out of college?

Hey guys,

I graduated a few months ago with a degree in Finance/Management/Economics from a very reputable University in Socal. I've now relocated back home in Norcal and have yet to to land anything. My unemployment gap is widening and I'm beginning to worry. My parents are threatening to kick me out, I'm running out of money, and banks are requesting payments on my student loans-- I'm in a terrible state right now. I was just wondering how you guys landed your first job out of college because there are virtually no entry level positions on the market right now. Help a brotha out! Thanks in advance!

PS: please PM me if you don't feel like putting it out there for the public to see, lol.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 12:48 AM   #2
rodi
. . .
Rep
Drives: your FACE!

that sucks man, I'm sorry to hear that.
have you tried looking in other areas? maybe relocating is going to give you the best options?

doesn't your school offer any placement/job listings/whatever?

Appreciate 0
      03-18-2011, 12:56 AM   #3
onesuperboi
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: '08 e92 335i COBB 4.01 Stage 1

I feel your frustration.

Good luck in the Bay Area. You had to have a super good GPA from your school in order to get some position in finance that is not sales related.

I got my undergraduate and graduate degree in finance and had no chance finding a job. They all want experience of some sort and the graduate degree did not substitute for years of experience. And, after the financial crisis hit, a lot of people with experience lost their jobs; those are the ones that you'll end up competing with for any position that you find.
Appreciate 0