BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

03-03-2011, 12:04 AM   #1
wwjd15
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: 11 E92 M3 MR

AP BBK issue and questions

I just got my car back with AP BBK installed. It's my first time to use AP BBK, not sure if the BBK performs the way it is. Now I'm running AP BBK with F3R pads on front's and Xtreme pads on rear's, tires are Hankook R-S3, suspension is KW V3.

1 Lack of response, braking comes late.
The first 70% of braking is lack of response for some reason. No matter what speed I'm in when I'm stepping on the brakes, there's no much response, unless I keep pushing all the way down.

2 Braking power.
For example, I have Brembo BBK with Endless ME20 pads, Moton and R888 combo on my Pcars. it's kind of braking that how much I apply, how much I get. If I slam on it, my lung would stick to my belly. But the braking power on AP doesn't even come close to that. I know that tires and suspension have some difference, but aren't AP BBK suppose to have better braking that Brembo?

I'm not sure if the F3R pads require pre-heat or what. I'm going to the track this weekend, but kind of scary about the braking power I have right now. It's no better or worse than stock set up.
Is there any chance the shop didn't bed in properly? However, they installed some other BBK on my other cars before, no issue.
Any input would be appreciate.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2011, 12:21 AM   #2
rzm3
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

1. Make sure your fluid is bled correctly.
2. Make sure there is nothing leaking. (check brake fluid reservoir and caliper bleed screws/hoses)
3. Make sure you properly bed-in your pads. (http://www.m3post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=396763)

I know a few people on the board who has the AP kit, and none I know had 'brake power' issues you described.
Appreciate 0
      03-03-2011, 12:28 AM   #3
wwjd15
Banned
United_States
Rep