BMW 1 Series Coupe Forum / 1 Series Convertible Forum (1M / tii / 135i / 128i / Coupe / Cabrio / Hatchback) (BMW E82 E88 128i 130i 135i)

10-05-2010, 01:32 AM   #1
Alext
Banned
No_Country
Rep
Drives: B M W

CGU vs Allianz?

Anyone have any experience of either these two insurance companies? They are offering me a much cheaper rate than AAMI for my Z4 that I am expecting soon.

I know Allianz underwrite BMW insurance.

I prefer CGU's windscreen insurance since with Allianz they will only do a no excess replacement if you have had the entire thickness of the glass or every layer of laminate cracked.

Last edited by Alext; 10-05-2010 at 02:10 AM..
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2010, 03:30 AM   #2
AussieAlf
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: LMB 123d MT Vert

Wow! Cheaper than AAMI. I went with CGU, but it was significantly more than AAMI, but way cheaper.

I have had some experience with CGU, but only with being the at the receiving end of someone else's insurance claim after they ran into the back of my MX-5. No problems from that side, they quickly settled with my choice of repairer (MX-5 factory).

I hear Allianz is pretty good, too.

Shannons wouldn't insure the 123d Vert at a reasonable price, only gave me a price at all since I'd been with them for 10 years and 2 MX-5's.

Cheers,
Alf
      10-05-2010, 04:17 AM   #3
TimMc
Lieutenant Colonel
Australia
Rep
Drives: E90 M3

Checked out these two yesterday. My insurance is due on the 24th.
- Allianz said they won't insure it unless I have a tracking device fitted! WTF?
- CGU will, due to my low kms, insure for $980 with the promise of replacing my over two year old car if it's written off.
- AAMI will insure for max of $59K for $503
I'm thinking it may be worth going with CGU here, due to the replace with new thing...
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2010, 04:48 AM   #4
dh58
Major
Australia
Rep
Drives: 135i