E90Post

TNT Racewerks

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > e90 n55 Performance Recommendations

02-02-2011, 02:20 PM   #1
Professor///M
Brigadier General
No_Country
Rep
Drives: 2022 M3, 2022 X5 40i;

Garage List
e90 n55 Performance Recommendations

I was a bit disappointed that my CA didn't explicitly say that I was getting a new engine when I found my e90. Knowing that the e90 will soon be dead, I fear that there may be an inherit lack of support for performance parts for this platform (considering it took so long to get stuff for the n54).

Regardless, I have the n55 e90 Auto with M-Sport package and I love it. I'm still looking for more power though. The fuel economy has been fantastic - above and beyond my n52!

I'm brand new to tuning, and adding power to my vehicle - hence the reason for this post.

I know what the options are out there, but I'm not sure which direction to go.

So I guess a few comments then questions...

1. I'm not looking to take my car to the track - just not interested. I'm sure that would help in the final decision making process.

2. I'm looking to possibly keep this car for the long term - at some point in say 5 or so years it may just be a winter car and a weekend driver.

3. I'm looking to maintain my warranty as long as possible.

So I think this brings me to a few options:

a. Dinan - very pricy, warranty, but no n55 options yet - bummer x2.

b. BMW Performance - It's unclear whether the Performance Power Kit is available for the n55 yet - my dealer says yes, website says no. I'd be interested if anyone has additional input here. Performance exhaust is available, but from what I understand does not provide that much additional power gain. Certainly the cooling gains with the PPK will only benefit C below as well.