BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

BPM

05-28-2009, 10:31 PM   #1
farbarg
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: SSII e90

new brake pads and low vibrations

I just had my carbotech XP10's installed. And, as expected, they squeal. That's fine. However, I'm also noticing some low vibrations coming from them as well. Some you can almost feel through the pedals. This is most evident at low speeds and happens intermittently. The dealer says this is from the automatic brake cleaning system applying the brakes to make sure they're dry. In traffic today it was intermittent but happening consistently every 15 seconds or so. Anyone else? Or is there another reason, like, new pads
Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-28-2009, 11:09 PM   #2
Hellride
Private
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2008 E92 M3 Jet Black

I'm no expert but I did not experience this with my track set of pads. And the pads are make-shift PFC 01's.

...which are outstanding by the way...
      05-29-2009, 06:43 AM   #3
lucid
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition

Did you bed them in? They need to remove the stock pad deposits on your rotor and then transfer their own compound before they will work properly. You can verify this with Carbotech.
      05-29-2009, 01:02 PM   #4
farbarg
First Lieutenant
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucid View Post
Did you bed them in? They need to remove the stock pad deposits on your rotor and then transfer their own compound before they will work properly. You can verify this with Carbotech.
The tech said he tried to, but then I repeated the procedure last night. Roughly following carbotech's procedure, I got them warmed up with some lighter stops and then did 7-8 65 to 10 stops, and then drove around a bit to let them cool down. The sound is a bit better today, but still happens.