BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

BPM

05-10-2009, 04:16 PM   #1
4u3
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 09 E92

Private Track Instruction

I am a novice track driver. Is it possible to receive private instruction to learn how to drive my car on the track. I have searched the internet and have not been able to find anything. I go to the Track dayz and FATT at Summit point.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2009, 04:47 PM   #2
lucid
Major General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E30 M3; Expedition

Sign up with BMW CCA. You will get 4 20-25 minute sessions on the track, and if you are a novice, they will assign you an instructor. That's one-on-one instruction. Not sure why you'd want "private" instruction.
      05-10-2009, 07:17 PM   #3
consolidated
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

Garage List
I just started using a private driving coach and can't say enough good things about this route. Call you local tracks and ask for their recommendations, we have a small group of pros in Texas that will coach at the larger venues.

At a beginners level you may not be interested in more than DEs or DE level private instructors, such as PCA, BMWCCA and other local white/red level drivers.

I've found that at an intermediate to experienced driver level there is no quicker way to progress than to hire a coach for a day or two. Now, the guys I'm referring to are professionals, they typically don't have other jobs, driving isn't a weekend hobby.