F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > 2012-2019 BMW 3 and 4-Series Forums > General F30 Sedan / F32 Coupe / F36 Gran Coupe Forum > Check engine light NEED HELP
ARMA SPEED

01-22-2024, 02:53 PM   #1
Dom083
Registered
Rep
Drives: BMW 335i x-drive (F30)

Check engine light NEED HELP

I have an F30 2013 335i xdrive. I am a college student, who goes to school on the East coast and lives in CA. I recently went home for winter break. My car stayed with a family member who turned it on every few days. It is cold in New England this time of year, not sure if this is a factor with my probelm.

Anyways family members let me know that the check engine light is on. At one point I tried to have a cousin use my OBD cord w a lightning cable adapter to read codes off BM3. For some reason my cord will not connect to the vehicle. But that is my smallest probelm right now (in the past I have disconnected battery and reconnected and it worked).

Right now I have a check engine light with the following codes
U1408
P0128

These seem to be the culprit and are both coolant related issues. I have been doing seem research online. Keep in mind I am a complete amateur/novice lol. Seems that my engine coolant temperature sensor is invalid. I have seen multiple fixes for the issue. Solutions as simple as low coolant, others simply replacing the sensor, and others suggesting replacing the thermostat (as it can get stuck open i belive?). Anyways I’m not sure how to go about this problem. Has anyone else had a similar problem with their n55? Anything helps! Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      01-22-2024, 03:59 PM   #2
thejeremyman9
Major General
Rep
Drives: 2015 BMW 335i