BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW 5-Series (G30) Forum Wheels | Tires | Suspension | Brakes | Chassis Lengthy Explanation & A Tire Question

08-01-2018, 11:11 PM   #1
F1A1
Registered
Rep
Drives: M550i xDrive

Lengthy Explanation & A Tire Question

Dear Fellow G30 Owners and/or Enthusiasts:

I am a newbie to the BMW world. I have recently bought my first BMW after spending 12.5 years with my Volvo S60 2.5T (and dreaming of BMWs for 40+ years). I love cars. I do my best to take care of them. So, I saved up some money and I finally purchased a brand-new carbonblack M550i xDrive (20 in wheels is the only optional equipment). My car has now ~2200 miles on it and "Yes" I love the BMW and should have bought a BMW much earlier.

Living in Houston TX comes with a lot of debri on the roads. Yesterday, I noticed through the TPM warning that a large nail had fully penetrated to my right rear tire. I have 20 inch wheels and the car came with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tires. The rear tire size is 275/35 R20. So, I took my car to the dealer. They told me runflats cannot be repaired and they told me that they do not have Pilot Sport 3's and sold me a Michelin Pilot Super Sport tire (for my right rear wheel). I asked repeatedly whether it is OK to combine these two types of tires and they told me "Yes. Both tires are same band, same size, and have the same tread pattern. It will be fine unless you are planning to take your car to track." For the record, although I would love to, I have no such plans. In the heat of the moment and worried that I do not have much time to change the tire (because it was losing pressure) and given the dealer says OK, I agreed.

I am now having bit of a buyer's remorse. I came home and started looking at my rear tires more closely and they are somewhat different. I am really worried about damaging car. I really want my car pristine.

Based on your knowledge and experience what would be your recommendation to me: