F30POST
F30POST
2012-2015 BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts
BMW 3-Series and 4-Series Forum (F30 / F32) | F30POST > Technical Forums > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics > Upgrade HK Sound System
proTUNING Freaks

09-26-2017, 02:42 PM   #1
BGREWAL
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 435i xDrive Coupe

Upgrade HK Sound System

Hey Guys!

I know there are multiple threads on this topic, but I'm a newbie at this stuff, and kinda need step by step guidance. I'm looking to upgrade the sound system in my car, currently a 435i X-drive with the HK upgrade. I want loud bass; however, not sacrificing quality. I heard of the Bavsound speaker upgrade, but I believe that the reviews say the difference is not worth the money. I'm looking at replacing the underseat subs and instaling a trunk sub, as well as replacing the speakers, if there is a great difference. In short, I just want the best, somewhat affordable, aftermarket sound system in the car.

Thanks Guys, sorry if this sounds somewhat immature lol
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2017, 03:07 PM   #2
Billfitz
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '15 328iX GT

Big bass requires a trunk mounted sub. You'll get far better results from replacing the electronics than the stock speakers, which are actually not bad at all, but the H-K electronics aren't bad compared to the hi-fi. I'd do the sub first, then the amp if you're not satisfied, with the speakers last if you decide to go all the way.
Appreciate 1
BGREWAL22.00
      09-26-2017, 10:15 PM   #3
BGREWAL
Private
Rep
Drives: BMW 435i xDrive Coupe

So what type of amp, or sub would sound the best together? I would replace the underseat ones as well, since i believe that it would only improve the bass.
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2017, 11:34 PM   #4
luckyyyyyyy
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: BMW 328iX 2013

I run a Hertz SX300D with a mono amp Pioneer GMD9601, it sounds amazing!
Appreciate 0