BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
BMW M2 Forum > M2 vs... > M2 vs M5

09-26-2016, 12:13 PM   #1
Encinitas CA M2+M5 Owner
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2016 M2 Long Beach Blue

M2 vs M5

I have owned the M5 since 2013 split between my and gal pal and it was a auto show car with all the options. My background is that probably I have over my lifetime spend upwards of close to a million dollars on cars now that I am 61 and I started at 18 thru my first car new Ford Mustang 73, highlights are 4 corvettes... My fav being the 82 collector edition, a black Dodge Viper 2d year production which was very at the time, 10 bmws at least etc with a fav being a x5 4.8... Limited before the M series hit, in fact I liked it better than the x 5 m I used to own both were driver over 90k miles.

My fav car of all time Hands down is the M2...and here is the reason why... It ain't a auto door closing four door take your grandma to the airport and put it on sport on the way home auto. It is a beast plain and simple... Forget your mother-in laws, your backseat friends ... It just you and your gal gripping the road and hearing how a sports car should really sound. It is what it is and that in there lies where the real strength of M2.

The 4 door M5 is amazing. and insane and for me it took months to figure everything out...at the time I purchased it the model change occurred I believe and was far ahead of its time for car.. Similar to my purchase of the new 7 series model which I bought year one of the model change. The 5 is my second fav car all time.

BUT.....

Sometimes you have to ask yourself are you a real sports driver or do you want a hybrid... The M5 clearly is two cars... And that is truly unique...thumbs up... But to me the M2 is more intimate... Less room and sexy and for some reason it feels quicker.