XBimmers X1   XBimmers X1
  XBimmers X1

Go Back   XBimmers | BMW X1 Forum > BMW X1 Forums > X1 DIY (Do-It-Yourself) Discussions

03-06-2015, 07:24 AM   #1
spoolinX1
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: X1

Thinking about swapping your grille? This might help

I swapped out my grille last night. I had never done it before. Was able to tackle the project in less than 30 minutes. Wife didn't even know I was in the garage. Thought I'd share my experience.

I studied my new grille for a few minutes and practiced a few attack angles at getting at the clips from the front using a radiator hose removal tool. I just didn't feel very good about the way that tool was angled, so I made my own tool out of the hook portion of a commercial use coat hanger. Once I achieved what I believed to have been the perfect design to reach all clips, I then wrapped it in a healthy coating of electrical tape so that nothing got scratched.

End result came out perfect. Original grille did not get damaged or scratched in any way. Tabs are all in tact. My hands/wrists are not cut up, and I didn't even have to swear!

You don't need any sort of special lighting. I did mine nearly blind. You don't need to remove the four bolts at the top of the bumper. Just use your new grille as reference for where the clips are, use one hand for guidance to put your finger on the clip, and use the other hand to put the hook smack dab in the middle of the clip. You'll know when you seat the tool properly because it locks into the recess and won't wiggle back and forth. Pull straight down towards the ground on the tool to release the upper clips and straight up towards the sky to release the lower clips. Don't pull the hook at an angle. Gently wiggle the grille as you're pulling the hook, it will smoothly come uncliipped. Don't be afraid to tug on the grille a little. Grab the grille firmly, apply pressure to the tab on the clip with your hook, then wiggle and tug on the grille a little.