BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com  
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts  

Go Back   BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

09-25-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
youngnastyman
Major
United_States
Rep
Drives: F83 M4

Grad School MBA - Are the Expensive Programs worth it?

When I graduated with my bachelors I promised myself that I would go back for grad school after 2 years - that was in 2011. Now I am preparing for my entrance tests and thinking about what schools I want to go to. My question for you successful and/or highly educated people out there - are the expensive, high ranked schools really worth the $100K+ Price tag?

I actually hold education in a very high regard, and I definitely understand the concept of getting what you paid for. But - with an MBA, there is no guarantee of getting a high-paying job right out of college. When you get a JD or MD, you are qualified and have the option of becoming a Lawyer or a Doctor. Get an MBA - what does that make you?

I did pretty well in my undergrad degree - got an BBA in MIS from University of Houston with a 3.8 GPA - top 8% of my class, Honor Society, etc. I am working as an IT consultant for a large energy firm in Houston and have about 6 years experience under my belt as a professional.

When it comes to my options - I need to stay local and join a program that works around my work schedule. So far the 3 options I have are University of Texas - McCombs Business School (UT), Rice University, and University of Houston.

UT and Rice are pretty prestigious schools. UT probably has more street cred for its MBA program than Rice, but both are very competitive and offer alot of beneficial experiences for their students. Each of these has a price tag of about $100K for the MBA program. Both of them offer a weekend or night time program so that I can work my day job and attend school at night.