BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com  
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read  

Go Back   BMW E60 5-Series Forum | 5Post.com > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board

11-07-2018, 05:13 PM   #1
roastbeef
Lieutenant General
United_States
Rep
Drives: E92 M3

Mortgage guys, lenders, money guys, mathematicians - lets talk about this HELOC plan

i listen to a few podcasts on passive income and dabble in real estate a little bit, but i'm still an amateur, and i'm definitely not a math guy.

a recent podcast highlights jordan goodman's suggested strategies of "debt optimization." basically, you use a heloc to pay towards your primary residence principal debt and effectively use the heloc as a checking account to flip the amortization schedule around to front load the principal payment as opposed to the interest payment.
this is a link to the podcast transcription where the below text is clipped from;

http://www.passiverealestateinvestin...o-seven-years/

"I’m here in Southern California. Let’s just say someone has a $500,000 mortgage and they go out and get a $100,000 HELOC.

They’re owing $600,000 and the house is worth $800,000, whatever it may be. Let’s say you’ve got $500,000 first and you took out a $100,000 second. Your $500,000 first is really good, 3.5% very, very low interest rate. Here’s how you’re going to do it. I’m actually going to take you step by step how this whole thing would work. You’ve got your first $500,000, 3.5% rate mortgage. You take out the HELOC for $100,000 and then it’s now, as you said, free and clear. You just open the thing up. You write a check on the $100,000 HELOC towards your first. You haven’t added any debt, you just shifted part of it from the first to the second. You still owe $500,000 total. You just owe $400,000 in the first and $100,000 in the HELOC.